Days of Holy Obligation

Click to access 35_1382535059_CF-Holy-Days-of-Obligation-resource.pdf

Holy Days of Obligation
The Holy Days of Obligation are the days other than Sundays on which we
celebrate the great things God has done for us through Jesus and the saints.
On Holy Days of Obligation, Catholics attend Mass.
Six Holy Days of Obligation are celebrated in the United States.
January 1—Mary, Mother of God
Fortieth day after Easter—Ascension
August 15—Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
November 1—All Saints
December 8—Immaculate Conception
December 25—Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ
About 10 years ago, the US bishops set the policy for Obligation at Mass on Holy
Three of the six Holy Days: Ascension, Immaculate Conception of Mary and the
Nativity (Christmas) are always Holy Days of obligation regardless of which day
they fall on.
All Saints, Mary the Mother of God (January 1) and the Assumption are not Holy
Days of obligation if they fall on a Saturday or Monday.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s